new hunters

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

saddlebum

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
just wondering how many new or first time hunters we have here. what drew you to want to hunt ? did some else influence you or tv shows ,mags etc?

sleeperx4

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I'm new to hunting. My two boys ,6 & 9, had expressed some interest in hunting so I figured it would be something we could do together. I don't come from a hunting family, but I've got a good friend who hunts a lot and he's answered a lot of my questions. He also took me turkey hunting this past spring and now I'm hooked! I doubt I do any deer hunting this season but probably next. I want to try and get the boys out this fall and do some coyote hunting, and possibly some fall turkey hunting. Im not sure if this is the kind of info you were looking for, if you have a more specific question, feel free to ask.

saddlebum

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
thanks for the reply, thats the kind of thing i'm interested to know. i've tried to get my stepsons interested to no avail. they are both grown now ,but when the were younger the youngest went a few times and killed a doe once. but he soon lost interest and i've hunted by myself the last few years.

just wondering if the interest in hunting was lost with the younger folks and if hunting has a future.

vvvvvvv

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I just took my Hunter Ed class today.

I had an interest in it when I was little, but my dad wasn't allowed to take us so he rarely went. (One of his uncles blew off a hand and three fingers, so my mom was very much against us even touching his guns.)

Dad asked me last year if I wanted to go quail hunting, but I hadn't taken the Hunter Ed course yet. Earlier this year, he expressed interest in a deer rifle, so I think we might do a little bit.