SBS Questions

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Slammer

Sharpshooter
Reaction score
2300 N Lincoln Blvd, OKlahoma City, OK 73105
I have zero knowledge or experience with class 3 type guns so I apologize if these are stupid questions.

I want to buy a SBS for my father in law as a gift. Is this possible without him filling out the required paperwork?

This gun is going to be a personal protection gun for his motorhome so smaller is better. I am pretty sure I want a pistol grip gun with 3-4 round capacity.

Is there a general rule of thumb for length of barrel for capacity X?

What are the pros/cons of pistol grip vs standard stock on an SBS?

Where can I get one from locally?

Fyrtwuck

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
I want to buy a SBS for my father in law as a gift. Is this possible without him filling out the required paperwork?

Sorry, but no. The paperwork is required. It would cost $200.00 for the transfer. If you were to buy it, it costs you $200.00 to transfer to you. Then another $200.00 to transfer to your father. You may be able to form a trust and name him on it as well and possibly avoid this.

This gun is going to be a personal protection gun for his motorhome so smaller is better. I am pretty sure I want a pistol grip gun with 3-4 round capacity.

Since you mentioned "motorhome" be very familiar with the laws regarding transportation of both firearms and NFA items. SBS is not legal in all states.

Is there a general rule of thumb for length of barrel for capacity X?

Not that I'm aware of.

What are the pros/cons of pistol grip vs standard stock on an SBS?

Portability more than anything. If it was manufactured from a virgin receiver and has never had a buttstock installed and will never have a buttstock installed, it would be a AOW with a $5.00 transfer fee. If there is a buttstock installed, it would be a SBS with a $200.00 transfer fee.