Trap Recommendations

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

r00s7a

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I've got some problem beavers that the rancher is wanting me to thin out, as they are now attacking the big trees on the slough, and looking for recommendations for traps. Reading through a trapping thread from a few weeks ago, someone recommended conibear 330 traps, and MB 750 leghold traps.

I don't think I am too interested in a drowning set if I don't have to, mainly cause I don't feel like getting in the slough. The water is very low right now, and around the lodge it is no more than two feet at the most, and only waist deep in the deepest part of the slough. It appears that a few body traps near the entrances would suffice, but I am not experienced in trapping beavers of this type. :) Suggestions?

About the cheapest I found was from Mack's Prairie Wings, $18 a pop. I was thinking three of these.
http://www.mackspw.com/Item--i-DKT0431

Got a bunch of bobcats around too, so I figured I'd give a few leghold traps a try. Was looking at the 5.25" Duke traps, maybe half a dozen of them. Has anyone ever used these specific traps or have input on something others?
http://www.mackspw.com/Item--i-DKT047S

dennishoddy

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
the conibear is certainly going to be the easiest to trap beaver with, but in Okla, you must be certified before you can use them.
I'm attempting to get certified now. Imhuntin gave me a phone number of a guy that puts on certification classes. He hasn't got back with me yet, but one can also call the ODW and talk to the person in charge of furbearers. They might have a list of instructors.
I can't say this for sure, but I'm thinking the class for conibears is probably about how to arm and use them safely as much as anything else.