Grandpa 4, Groundhogs 0

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SteveOhio

Marksman
Supporting Member
Supporter
Reaction score
Hi folks,

I had to send 4 groundhogs to woodchuck heaven today. I used my Ruger 10-22 with subsonic .22 LR. While it was quieter than normal .22 LR, it would probably be better if I bought a suppressor since groundhogs seem to think my property is a woodchuck amusement park. I don't want to panic any neighbors. Anybody have any recommendations on which suppressor might work well for that purpose? How about recommendations for which a .22 rifle that comes with a threaded barrel? Any hints or tips appreciated because I have zero suppressor experience.

Jgreen30

Marksman
Reaction score
I've got a silencerco spectre 2 and a dead air mask and both are awesome. Cz makes several bolt 22s with threaded barrels that look nice. I've got a cheap savage bolt 22 with a threaded barrel that I bought for like $200 several years ago that's worked great and I recently picked up a bergara with a threaded carbon fiber barrel that is pretty nice. Since you already have a 10/22 you could pick up another one of them that's threaded or an American if you wanted a bolt gun and they'd take the same mags as your 10/22.

SteveOhio

Marksman
Supporting Member
Supporter
Reaction score
I've got a silencerco spectre 2 and a dead air mask and both are awesome. Cz makes several bolt 22s with threaded barrels that look nice. I've got a cheap savage bolt 22 with a threaded barrel that I bought for like $200 several years ago that's worked great and I recently picked up a bergara with a threaded carbon fiber barrel that is pretty nice. Since you already have a 10/22 you could pick up another one of them that's threaded or an American if you wanted a bolt gun and they'd take the same mags as your 10/22.