Out of state sales-as the seller

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ripnbst

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
If I am selling something on Armslist to someone out of state do I have any liability if I sell them something illegal where they live? For example if I sell a high cap mag to someone living in an area where high cap mags are not allowed.

I've asked the buyer if the item is legal to own where they live. They said yes. Is that good enough or do I need to CMA and research it to verify the legality?

Specifically looking at selling high cap rifle mags to an individual living in Commiefornia.

ripnbst

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
From the buyer:

"It is legal for me to own these magazines. I am a law enforcement officer and will be using these for training to cut down on some of the cost or firing my AR.. Thanks again."

This is what the buyer sent me and has already sent me paypal funds. To the LEO's here, is there something I can request form this guy that proves he is an LEO that would not be a ridiculous request? I just don't need to get myself into trouble over something as stupid as a couple of mags.

Coded-Dude

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
you can NOT import high capacity magazines into states where they are illegal. it is a crime. dealing with law enforcement is a different ball game, but I am not sure I would chance it.

daytomann

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
If you sell a high Magazine to a state that have laws against them without them being taken apart and sold as a rebuild kit then yes you have a liability.

You will need to check the laws for each state as to what qualifies for rebuild kit or not Or whether or not they allow rebuild kits. You should do it before you even think about sending them out, it's really not even worth the risk or hassle.