PID temp controller for Lee lead pot

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ok-22shooter

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
Sharing a project I made up a while back. I have been casting bullets on and off for over 40 years. picked up 400 pounds of wheel weight/lead over the last year and starting to turn into projectiles. Lee leads pots have a very rudimentary temp control with no read out. Purchased a PID on/off controller with solid state relay on Amazon along with a few thermocouples and box enclosure. The forum CastBoolits has lots of people that have assembled a controller. I did mine a bit different as the heat sink on the relay can get pretty warm so I mounted it on the out side of the box, fins are shown on back of box. It is wonderful to have something like +/- 2 deg C temp control over the lead. Bought wrong (degrees C) readout controller. Also easy to change lead temp based on conditions at the mold/bullets. I pulled apart a couple of control panels that were being scrapped and have 3 more controllers and industrial relays. I have a second small Lee pot that I plan on using a high tin mix and cast 230 grain bullets for 300BO. Looking for a hot plate I can use to pre-heat molds. Would be glad to discuss the build with any one that wants to give this a try. Also looking for info from members that are currently powder coating bullets.

Attachments

• Temp control 1.JPG
    Temp control 1.JPG
    2.7 MB · Views: 3
  • temp control 2.JPG
    temp control 2.JPG
    1.7 MB · Views: 0

Cold Smoke

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Have you been able to detect any improvement in consistency since improving your temperature control? I’m not a caster, but it seems like easing up to your melting point instead of blasting past it would reduce fuming too. Nice work.

ok-22shooter

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score