Help from ar experts

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

j99tc88

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
Something’s I have lots of experience with, but not this but here ya go. Ar pistol 11.5 inch barrel, new upper to 14.5 inch with welded 1.5 inch flash suppressor. Is there anything else I need to change, springs tube anything? Or is the difference small enough not to matter?
Thanks in advance

Buddhaman

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Something’s I have lots of experience with, but not this but here ya go. Ar pistol 11.5 inch barrel, new upper to 14.5 inch with welded 1.5 inch flash suppressor. Is there anything else I need to change, springs tube anything? Or is the difference small enough not to matter?
Thanks in advance
It shouldn’t matter too much if the gas system is the same length. Even then you might get a bit more recoil depending on your buffer weight.

THE JOKER

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
5B1201B6-82E6-458A-807F-5E233B7BBCAF.jpeg

If you are in the red add an H1,H2 or H3

Glocktogo

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
There are too many variables to say for sure. Gas system length, gas port size, carrier, buffer and spring weights, ammo selection, etc. most manufacturers try to set up their uppers so they all operate within a window of reliability. You’ll probably be fine, but if you’re getting malfunctions or excessive recoil, you can always change out buffer weights and/or recoil springs.

j99tc88

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score