How to measure...

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gmar

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
I'm new to reloading and have read that for the best accuracy you need to measure how far the tip of the bullet is from the lands of the barrel and try to seat the bullet accordingly. How do you measure this?

Also, I've read that after you fire the brass it fire forms to you barrel and you shouldn't try to resize the entire case, just the neck only. Is this true?

This is for a 6.5 Grendel.

Thanks.

MoBoost

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Also, I've read that after you fire the brass it fire forms to you barrel and you shouldn't try to resize the entire case, just the neck only. Is this true?

What gun and what purpose?

Depends on what and where you are shooting.

Most of the time you want to FL size every time, there are times when you just want to bump the shoulder with FL die.

Neck sizing works very good for reduced loads and slow rate competitions.

JCW355

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
After the first initial firing thru my bolt action rifle, I only neck size. 7MM mag and .243. Full length resizing, in my opinion, doesn't need to be done everytime in a bolt action rifle. I only do it the first time I reload that brass case and if it wasn't new factory ammo.

gmar

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
What gun and what purpose?

Depends on what and where you are shooting.

Most of the time you want to FL size every time, there are times when you just want to bump the shoulder with FL die.

Neck sizing works very good for reduced loads and slow rate competitions.

It will be for a 6.5 Grendel. I will be using it for some long range shooting up to 600 yards max as well as some hunting. Will fully resizing each time help it cycle better on a semi auto rifle?

criticalbass

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score