416 Taylor - An Interesting Pickup

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rez Exelon

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
First off, shout out to @adamsredlines for dealing with my excitement on this one. I needed someone to get excited to and he's a classy dude for letting me blow up his PMs.

Why am I excited? Because I like big dumb toys, and I got a new one. Obviously in the most readily available one possible --- the 416 Taylor. Now, while I'd like to say I'm an expert in this niche genre of rifles, I'm really not. I'm going down this road because the rifle shoots a big ole bullet and I got it for a solid price. This one happens to be built on a CZ VZ24 action and is going make me wait to get it to the range. Why? Well --- So far, here's what I know ---

1. You cannot take 416 Rem Mag brass and resize it. I originally thought this and I was wrong. Learning more about it, 416RM is based off the 8mmRM case and not the 458 Win Mag case. Soooo I've gotta search for 458 Win brass, or the even more elusive "actually head stamped 416 Taylor" brass. I suppose the latter is out there, but I really do not want to pay nearly $4 each for just the case. Sheesh!
2. While not based the same, 416 Taylor has comparable ballistics to the 416RM, 416 Rigby and other big boomer rifles. You give up a few FPS but it fits in a standard action.
3. After getting it in today, the rifle was much nicer in person than the pictures I saw before I got it. There are a few flaws on the metal, but it looks like the were way in the past and the metal was treated since. Considering the VZ24's haven't been made since 1942, I think it's doing good.