What’s the catch with 84 months 0% APR?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bigdawg90

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
I’ve been shopping for a used tractor for about 4 months. I’ve been to look at several. I was trying to get into one under $5k. Those needed more work than it was worth or didn’t have a loader. So I upped my budget to around $10k. I went to see several that were used and abused and walked away from negotiations. I’d hit ‘em back up and they said it sold for asking. So I started looking at new.

I’ve gone to Kubota, John Deere, Mahindra and Bad Boy dealers.

My favorite, by far, was the Kubota 3302 or 3902 HST.

Am I missing something with the 84 months 0% APR. I’m pretty sold on the deal. I’d buy insurance and attachments cash and finance only the tractor and loader. He said they offer a $500 cash price discount? That seems ludicrous to me. $500 to finance a $25k loan for 7 years 0%.

With inflation a 0% interest loan seems too good to be true. I put the deal on ice because it just seemed like there was a catch. With CDs making 5.25% I could put cash into a CD and literally make money over 7 years then pay it out right right now.

My wife and I have been cash people for the past couple years due to interest rates. I already have neighbors who heard I was going to buy a tractor. I’ve already got side jobs lined up.

This is either a blessing or there’s a big catch and I’m missing it. What is it? Am I missing something?

Does anyone know of any negatives for this other than debt. The finance charge total is $900. Thats the only charge on the itemized list. I checked the final financed amount and there weren’t any hidden charges or pre payment penalties. This wouldn’t be my first piece of machinery but it would be my first tractor.

OK Corgi Rancher

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score