AR gas pressure question

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

doctorjj

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I'm fairly new to the AR15 world. I was shooting my 14.5" barreled AR the other day with some XM193 ammo. I know it's loaded pretty hot, but I was getting a little ejector "smear" or ejector "shear" on about every 3 out of 15 cases. It was relatively minor, but as I understand it, this is a sign of overpressure. Is that significant enough that I need to look into fixing it, or is it just a symptom of the hot ammo I was shooting??? I haven't shot much other ammo through this gun, so I don't know if it would happen with other ammo or not.

CAR-AR-M16

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
XM193 is not a "hot" load, it is loaded to standard 5.56mm pressures. It is only considered "hot" when shot in a .223 Remington chamber. While most folks think .223 and 5.56 chambers are the same, they are not.

awww.razoreye.net_mirror_ammo_oracle_AR15_com_Ammo_Oracle_Mirror_files_556cham.gif

doctorjj

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I understand the difference between 223 and 5.56. I also understand that most people consider xm193 a "hot" load. I guess to you, even if it's loaded to the max safe pressures, that's just "normal"???

aeropb

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I understand the difference between 223 and 5.56. I also understand that most people consider xm193 a "hot" load. I guess to you, even if it's loaded to the max safe pressures, that's just "normal"???

People who consider XM193 hot are comparing it to .223. It is not hot, it is standard 5.56.

doctorjj

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Jeez dude. I'm not trying to get into a peeing contest, but from what I can find, XM193 is one of the hottest factory 5.56 loads out there. That's a fact. I'm talking only about 5.56 NATO rounds. I never brought up .223. You did. I give a rat's @ss about .223.