bow question

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bobed

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I am shooting a PSE brute that is working great. I believe that it is set around 55# pull and I have thought about bumping it up to 60# which is as high as my bow will go. My concern is how much it may change my aim. Will this change by alot? Is it worth it?

Clean Harry

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
You can crank it up and try it. I don't think it will cahnge very much. Crank it up and shoot it at 20 yards with a good backstop like a dirt bank. If you have paper tuned that bow, crank it up and shoot it through paper again and see if anything has changed.

bobed

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I am still new to archery so know I have another question. What is paper tuning? Is it when you shoot at paper on a target and see how the arrow hit and adjust your bow accordingly? Where can i learn more about this?

bigcountryok

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
http://www.papertuning.com/

I would recommend not being in a hurry to crank up the draw weight. 1) Yes it does change your POI and you may have to change the weight of your tips to get it to tune 2) Becoming proficient with a bow requires lots of practices. Getting worn out after a few shots does you no good at all. 3) Remember its a lot different trying to draw that bow after sitting down in a stand in the freezing weather than it is at the practice range. 4) Keep it light enough to be smooth and fun 55lbs is more than enough to blow through any deer with a good cut on contact head.

Keep shooting and have fun.

AllOut

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
+1 on above
here is a good test
sit in a chair and pull your legs off the ground and put them straight out in front of u. now draw your bow, you should be able to draw your bow from this position WITH OUT strugling. if u cant then the poundage is to high.