Dillon SDB wild variances in OAL

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bigbadge

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
I am fairly new to reloading.

I have been mostly loading 124 gr. FMJ Montana Gold bullets.

Yesterday, I decided to start loading 147 gr. FMJ Montana Gold bullets, Winchester cases, Federal small pistol primers with an OAL of 1.158.

I mixed loads last night with Titegroup powder. I made small batches with 3.0, 3.1, 3.2 and 3.3 grains of powder. I shot them today and liked the 3.3 the best. When I got home, I checked all the settings on the SDB and set to reloading some more.

I loaded 25 rounds and began running them through my caliper to double check. I was shocked! The lengths ran from 1.155 to 1.171!:faint:

I figured that I must have royally screwed something up - BTW there is no TV, radio, windows or people in my room with me. So, I checked and re-checked everything, and did adjust the seating stem.

I ran another batch of 25, being extra diligent about all my actions. I checked this batch through calipers also. Again, I had the same wild spread.

I checked all of the adjustments and then I then loaded a handful one at a time. The came out perfect (+/-0.02).

I then ran two batches of 4 through. All but one were larger than 1.162.

I gave up before my frustration got the better of me.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Don

bigbadge

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
No.

Could you tell me what I would be looking for. I'm sorry, but I really would have no clue.

To do so, would I just unscrew the thing until it came completely out?

Also, is there a lock nut/washer that it's supposed to have to keep it from backing out? It's not real loose but I can turn it with my fingers (usually) with a little effort.

Thanks again.

Sorry for being such a NOOB with some of this stuff.

Don

KurtM

Sharpshooter