Direct Impingement vs Gas Piston AR.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Biggsly

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I have been shooting ARs for over 20 years and I have owned a bunch of them. I have never fired a piston AR until today. I had a chance to play with 3 of them that belong to my B.I.L. 2 of the guns run the Adams Arms kits and one was a LWRC piston rifle.
I will say that the piston shoots smooth and the gun stay a lot cleaner.
Here is my question.

What are the goods and bads of the piston vs a D.I. AR?

doctorjj

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
The original Stoner design is a piston design. The aftermarket "piston" designs could more properly be called op rod designs. The op rod designs take the heat and fouling and move it to a different place on the gun. It still gets hot and and dirty. Maybe if you are doing sustained full auto, this might be beneficial. I think they are nice for extremely short SBR's and for suppressed use to, to provide potentially better reliability in the extremely short barrels and for less gas in your face when suppressed. Adjustable gas blocks can mitigate that as well though. The bring with them a slew of problems though, including non standard parts, less accuracy, BCG cant or tilt, and excessive wear on small bolt lugs which were never intended to be operated from an op rod. Unless I were going extremely short SBR or SBR and suppressed, I don't see the benefits.

tulsanewb

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I have been shooting ARs for over 20 years and I have owned a bunch of them. I have never fired a piston AR until today. I had a chance to play with 3 of them that belong to my B.I.L. 2 of the guns run the Adams Arms kits and one was a LWRC piston rifle.
I will say that the piston shoots smooth and the gun stay a lot cleaner.
Here is my question.

What are the goods and bads of the piston vs a D.I. AR?