Good shoulder holster?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

petersonb

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Im new to the conceal carry world, and I'm fairly certain that I will get the MTAC holster, but I also want a shoulder holster. I googled it and have seen some for around $30. I just cannot imagine that a $30 holster can be that comfortable or of a good quality. Any suggestions on a good shoulder holster? I'm wanting something in about the $100 range.

Thanks!

jej

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Since you are new to CCW - shoulder holsters have lots of issues. When you draw, you will point our muzzle lots of places you should not. Its hard to protect the weapon from a bad guy trying to take it from you. You cannot re-holster single handed. They bang your ribs when you run, unless they are strapped down to your belt. Those are all bad things.

The good things - you can draw while seated in a car, you can carry under a sweatshirt when you are wearing shorts or sweats that have no belt, you can carry a backup well concealed, you can carry a big, long bbl piece that is hard to hide, they are comfortable for fat guys.

That said, the Galco and Bianchi recommended above are good places to start. I think the Galco models to look at are "original jackass" [as in donkey leather, which was first used] or "half jackass" [has elastic on the off side instead of leather and mag holders] and miami rigs. If you want a fitted/boned rig, that is where I would look.

Bianchi makes a very different rig called X-15 that will hold a variety of guns. Its leather, holds the gun with spring tension.

jej

hullxsm

Marksman
Special Hen
Reaction score