High Pressure?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tulsanewb

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I reloaded some .308 with 42.0 grains of Ramshot Tac (under the max by quite a bit) and 168gr SMKs. Trim length was 2.005" and OAL was approximately 2.800 (spread from 2.792 to 2.803, typically 2.800 +/- .002"). The loads don't feel hot, but they do require a little more force to turn the bolt than I am used to. They fire beautifully however. This is for a 5R Remington 700 20". I had loaded some rounds last week with the same dimensions ranging from 41 to 42.25 grains of TAC, but forgot to check the primers after. I did notice that at least some of the primers looked similar (I deprimed the rest before looking, bone-head move, I know).

Is this cratering a sign of over-pressure? I'm still pretty new to reloading, but don't see much else that points to pressure. There are a few scratches on the cases from chambering, but not much else as you can see from the pictures. 20140126_194346.jpg20140126_194352.jpg20140126_194433.jpg20140126_194426.jpg

ASP785

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
This is more of a "problem" with your rifle than the loads. There is simply some slop between the bolt face and firing pin channel, ie the channel is slightly oversized, that allows some of the primer to flow in this area. Don't worry too much about it.

Sanford

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score