Home Defense issues

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

blutch

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Ok.. since I'm new to all this, I've been thinking a great deal about the safety of my home. My kids are both in college and basically out of the house. It is just me and my wife most of the time and often she is home alone for long periods of time at night. I often work at night.

She is careless about security, but that is another subject.

I know I need to get a shotgun for home defense. It is on the list and will happen eventually. The problem I see is having it where I need it.

How do you guys have a weapon at hand everywhere you are in the house? I can't see me carrying a gun around the house... I know some do this.. but probably not in the cards here.

I also can't see carrying the shot gun from room to room either. Sure, I could have it available in our bedroom at night, but if we were invaded at a time when we are in our living room or kitchen, there is no way on earth I could get to it. Bedroom is way down a hallway and the front and back doors are between where we usually are and that hallway. I'm not going to be one to leave a loaded gun out on the table next to my recliner. Perhaps I need to consider that?

Looking for solutions and what I need to work on.

Thanks

B

Soulman

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Ok.. since I'm new to all this, I've been thinking a great deal about the safety of my home. My kids are both in college and basically out of the house. It is just me and my wife most of the time and often she is home alone for long periods of time at night. I often work at night.

She is careless about security, but that is another subject.

I know I need to get a shotgun for home defense. It is on the list and will happen eventually. The problem I see is having it where I need it.