Lower velocity loads

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fyrtwuck

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
I've been reloading for quite a few years and I want to try and customize some loads for different semiauto .45 ACP pistols that I have.

I want to be able to use the minimum amount of powder in the load but still maintain reliable function. I know that if you exceed the maximum amount listed in the reloading books it could cause a kaboom. Using less than what is listed in the manual, other than a bullet sticking in the barrel, is there a danger of a kaboom if not enough powder is used?

The powder I'm using is Titegroup. The minimum load listed for a 200 grain LSWC bullet is 4.2 grains.

My goal in this experiment is less wear and tear on both me and the guns. (Can you tell I'm bored?)

Blitzfike

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
The most danger with reduced powder loads is with the fast burning powders like bullseye. Back in the early '70s several of the police departments in the country that were loading practice loads in 38 spl were experiencing blown up guns. Smith and Wesson and Colt both denied any problem with the guns and pointed fingers at double charges etc.. NRA labs were able to duplicate the problem with very low charges of bullseye causing what they called detonation. It seems that the small charge of powder was dispersed within the case by the primer flash prior to being ignited creating something like a dust explosion. The powder granules were all being ignited at once rather than in layers as in a normal case charge. Using fillers to hold the charge in place mitigated the problem to a great extent. Just something historical to consider as you experiment. Good luck and definitely keep us posted, this is what I really like.... Blitzfike

Fyrtwuck

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score