NEWBEE here, got questions and comments

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Punisher

Marksman
Special Hen
Reaction score
First off let me thank you guys for putting up with me resurrecting a year and a half old thread, http://www.okshooters.com/forums/showthread.php?t=38611

Your feedback was helpful.

But now I'm back with thinking out loud. Your feedback is welcomed.

Well, I just don’t know any more. I’m new to all this, so bare with me.

This is my first gun, and my knowledge is very basic. I carried a 1911 back in the day while an MP in the Army. But that was very different then. Now I plan on concealing it. I have shot a 357 magnum snub nose, 38 special, 9mm and of course 45, but not the 40cal. Plus I am still waiting for the county to issue my license. So I have time to figure things out.

Last month, I went to a gun convention and handled many different guns. The one that fit my hand like a glove was a police used stainless 40cal. I don’t even know what model. But it looks like the 4003. It was silver stainless, black de-cocking lever on both sides, (I’m a lefty) slide lock and sights. I don’t recall seeing anything that said TSW or even tactical. But when I gripped that gun, it felt great! And the price was great too.

But just today, I went snooping at the local gun shop, and now I just don’t know.

I really like the silver stainless!! And they had a 9mm stainless similar to the 40cal I want to buy. BUT, they also had the new M&P models just sittin there. I asked if it was possible to change the mag release on the silver to the other side. They said no. it’s a different mag and the frame isn’t designed this way. One guy in the shop struck up a conversation with me, and we discussed the new M&P and some of the features.