News Story: Officials Block Cellphones to Hinder Protest

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HFS

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Note: I am not a lawyer, and don't play one on TV.
I seem to recall reading that state/local gov'ts and businesses can't jam cell phone signals under federal law. (State prisons wanted to do so to try and thwart the inmates who allegedly continue their criminal enterprises from inside the joint with smuggled cell phones.)
Looks like the folks in California took a different angle on shutting down cell phones to squelch a protest. Might be something to think about if relying solely on cell phone service.

SF Transit Blocks Cellphones to Hinder Protest
SAN FRANCISCO (AP) — Transit officials blocked cellphone reception in San Francisco train stations for three hours to disrupt planned demonstrations over a police shooting.

Officials with the Bay Area Rapid Transit system, better known as BART, said Friday that they turned off electricity to cellular towers in four stations from 4 p.m. to 7 p.m. Thursday. The move was made after BART learned that protesters planned to use mobile devices to coordinate a demonstration on train platforms.

The tactic drew comparisons to those used by the former president of Egypt to squelch protests demanding an end to his authoritarian rule. Authorities there cut Internet and cellphone services in the country for days earlier this year.

"BART officials are showing themselves to be of a mind with the former president of Egypt, Hosni Mubarak," the Electronic Frontier Foundation said on its website.

The American Civil Liberties Union criticized the tactic, saying on its blog that it was the "wrong response to political protests."