Reloading .40 cal for Glock 23

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

alanwk

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I am a newbie in the reloading world. I usually carry the Glock 23 (.40 cal) and would like to reload for it. I am hearing and reading that the 40 cal in a glock is not supported so not to use reloads. Is there a workaround? I know that if I want to use lead bullets I should change the barrel. Which barrel should I get? Hopefully I won't be looking for a different gun. I would appreciate your comments. Thanks.

KurtM

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
I have shot thousands and thousands of reloads through my Glock 23 and 24. Don't use lead bullets, keep over all length of the cartrige to around 1.130" I really like plated bullets like Extreem, Berry's, or Raineer in 165 or 180. Another bullet type you can look into are the moly plated bullets like Black Bullet International, or Precision bullets. Don't go over max powder loads listed for the weigth bullet you are using. and ENJOY! There is no reason to get a new barrel, or worry about the non-supported chamber unless you really want to use powder charges that are WAY hot! KurtM

I like 4.3 grains of WST and a 180 grain bullet for general shooting in my Glocks in .40

alanwk

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I have shot thousands and thousands of reloads through my Glock 23 and 24. Don't use lead bullets, keep over all length of the cartrige to around 1.130" I really like plated bullets like Extreem, Berry's, or Raineer in 165 or 180. Another bullet type you can look into are the moly plated bullets like Black Bullet International, or Precision bullets. Don't go over max powder loads listed for the weigth bullet you are using. and ENJOY! There is no reason to get a new barrel, or worry about the non-supported chamber unless you really want to use powder charges that are WAY hot! KurtM