Campus security? Really?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

raeken45

Made of wrongthink
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
I was at a college campus earlier, which will remain nameless for now, and noticed a security officer walking around the student union area that made me feel real secure. She was a woman in probably her mid 50's, about 5' 5" tall and maybe 130lbs wet. I know size isn't everything but it would not take much to overpower her. The thing that really got me was how she was armed. She was wearing a thin, maybe 3/4" wide dress belt which had a small flashlight and what looked to be a FNH pistol on it. The pistol was in an uncle mikes nylon holster with the velcro thunb strap, and was clipped on the outside of her hip on her dress belt. Every time she took a step the damn thing flopped around like it was going to fall off. I am no expert in security but I know that that gun could be taken in 2 seconds by my 8 year old. Good thing they care so much about security that I have to leave my gun in the car. I will be contacting campus security this week. Have all the bills in the state to allow carry on colleges been shot down? I think its time to bring them back up. Also, what is the penalty for carrying on a college campus, the same as a K-12 school? Just thought I would share.

henschman

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Yes, the penalty is the same as carrying at a K-12 school. It's a felony, carrying 0-2 years and a $0-5,000 fine.

If you have a handgun license, they could also choose to charge you under a misdemeanor statute that carries up to a $250 fine.

The penalty for being caught WITHOUT a weapon could be anything up to death.

twoguns?

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Yes, the penalty is the same as carrying at a K-12 school. It's a felony, carrying 0-2 years and a $0-5,000 fine.