.38 Wadcutter Questions

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lowlight

Marksman
Special Hen
Reaction score
We'll I am new to reloading and before I jump feet first into it I wanted to get more first hand experience and information on the goods and the bads.

I am curious if anyone has any input on making a good .38 Wadcutter round for the .38. I am shooting revolver at 50 yards and in. I need a very accurate and consistent load.

The other part I am researching is casting the Wadcutter bullets themselves. I am very interested in learning how to do this if it is worth the time. For what I have read so far, it takes a lot of time.

Since I have not jumped in yet, preferred tools or loaders would be helpful.

Any experienced info in these areas would be greatly appreciated.

Pulp

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Casting isn't that difficult nor time consuming. That said, I've never cast hollowbase wadcutters, but it shouldn't be any harder. If you're on a tight budget look to Lee for casting supplies, molds, bullet sizers etc. Lyman is also an excellent choice but a bit more expensive. Tha absolute simplest way for sizing and lubing is the Lee Sizer with Alox Tumble Lube.

Be absolutely to follow all safety rules for casting bullets. Don't take shortcuts with 700 degree lead. And never forget, hot bullets look just like cold bullets. I'd reckon every caster already knows that, but have still picked up a hot bullet at least once.

swampratt

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
I bet most of the people i talked to about the wadcutter were pushing them too fast.
read this..looks like 2.7gr bullseye or 3.0gr of ww231 works great.
Hot Rod them and accuracy goes to crap.

http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f30/wonderful-wadcutters-22022/

Yes casting is easy.. trying to get a couple guys here during my next casting session..a little hands on .

gl89aw

Sharpshooter