A Good Starter Kit for Reloading

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Furious_George

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
i've been using my lee kit for about 3 years now, loaded thousands of rounds, and still like it alot. it's only a single stage setup but you'd be surprised how efficient you can get with it. haven't gotten tired of it at all. the only thing i upgraded was a lyman electric powder dispenser. oh and for pistol gun powder, the lee powder dispenser that comes with the kit is fantastically fast and accurate. kinda not a whole ton of fun for larger grain rifle powders though. if you're on a bit of a budget i'd definitely recommend a similar setup. being a single stage, it's especially great for starting out...and being low cost, you're really not going to lose money if you decide to upgrade to a progressive press and sell the lee. but if you have some extra cash lyman, hornady, and dillon all make very good single stage presses.

alank2

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Hi,

Also check out www.glockpost.com. Forum was started when many of the glocktalk reloading forum regulars who got tired of being regulated over at GT. Lots of good reloading experience.

My advice is forget the kits, they are often not packaged with the best equipment.

If you are wanting to go cheap, get a Lee Classic Turret with all the whistles. Search for kempf gun shop, I think he has kits with all the options on it such as the powder measure, primer dispenser, etc. Four pulls of the handle = one round of ammunition.