AK-47 Build Who has done one??????

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Serenity Bushcraft

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I have been eyeballing some AK-47 kits on the net for awhile now. They seem to be labor intensive and to require a lot of special tools to put together. But the price is something that is very attractive. Using a Romanian parts kit and a reciever I think that I have a complete rifle for under $250.00. Am I missing something here? SO have any of you guys actually put together one of these kits before. If so what tools dod you use to get er done. I am not a mechanical retard I am just wondering if it is a project that someone with a basic home workshop can build. So any tips will also be helpful. CHEERS

Ignored Member

Sharpshooter
Reaction score
I've never done one myself, but from what I've heard, you can build it with hand tools. A press would be really nice to use to get the barrel in the trunium, but it could be done with a hammer and some patience.

My ak was built from a kit and the rivets holding the trunium were welded on, the rest were hammered.

redmax51

Sharpshooter
Reaction score
To do it right you need some special tools that will cost you enough money that, unless you are planning to build several,it's not worth it.I've had 3 kits built by Elk River Tool and Die out of Houston.Good folks reasonable prices excellent work.They have a website with prices. Steve

Perplexed

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
I've had 3 kits built by Elk River Tool and Die out of Houston.Good folks reasonable prices excellent work.They have a website with prices. Steve

What about The Firing Line in Wyandotte? Are they any good for building one's AK, or are they an outfit to steer clear of?

AKmoose

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
You also need US compliant parts to be legal.