Buffalo River Canoeing

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sesh

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I've been asked to help plan a canoe trip in early June for a group of 6-10 Varsity Scouts and probably 3-4 adults. They are wanting to go to the Buffalo River in Arkansas. I have no experience on this river. I've heard it's a good river for beginners, which is what most of these boys are so that will be good. I guess what I need some advice on is a reputable, affordable outfitter to provide us with canoes. We don't have our own canoes and I don't particularly want to try to haul a trailer load of them from here to there and back. Anyone have any experience on the river? I'd also be willing to suggest a different river if anyone knows of a good spot where we can put in 40-50 miles.

dennishoddy

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
You, and the scouts will love the Buffalo.
I've been on several 12 mile trips that take all day in that area. There are other excursions that can take 2-3 days if wanted.

If I remember right, its the first national river in the country, and has a 12 mile on either side of it that does not allow any development. There are black bears, elk, deer, and a host of other critters. The Buffalo itself is known as one of the premier smallmouth bass streams in the country.

We have always used Buffalo River Outfitters to get our canoes. Very professional group. http://www.buffaloriveroutfitters.com/

Once you spend time on the Buffalo, no other river is the same. Beautiful 300' bluffs with overhangs that one can canoe under, etc.

big-triple-d

Marksman
Special Hen
Reaction score