Corrosive Ammo use on an AK-47

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
A

Ak4778

Hey I have a question if anyone can help! Im new to the Guns/Ammo world and I just recently bought my first Ak 47 polish underfolder after doing a lot of research..Now I would like to know about the Ammo..
I see a big difference in the price on corrosive and non-corrosive ammo.Being that I love to shoot my Ak and non corrosive ammo is fairly expensive,how harmful is corrosive ammo to an ak?
If I can get away with just cleaning it right away after shooting it I can certainly live with that..Or should I just stay as far away from it as possible! And if so,how is it harmful to the Ak?
Any help,tips on cleaning with corrosive ammo and answers will be appreciated,Thanks!

ripnbst

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Does your AK have a chrome lined barrel?

Corrosive is OK as long as you clean well shortly after shooting. There are many videos and posts and opinions all over the web on whats the best way to neutralize the corrosive elements in the corrosive ammo.

jakerz

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Corrosive is good to go. Just add water after shooting to neutralize the salts and then oil and clean like normal. I like using Ballistol as a one and done product.

pak-40

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I own several AK's, SKS, and Mosins. Some with chrome barrels, some not (YUGO's). I shoot mostly the corrosive Yugo, mil-surp ammo in my AK's. GREAT stuff.

All you have to do is rinse the gun with water before cleaning normally. I use the garden hose and run water down the barrel and down the gas tube. During the winter, I just rinse it in the shower. The corrosive salts are dissolved in the water and rinsed out. I know some people take an air-compressor and dry it off. I never have. Air dry has always worked for me.