Deer Hunting Tips & Information Sharing

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ez bake

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
If you're interested in good Duck hunting spots - check out the Wetland Development Units in the interactive maps located on wildlifedepartment.com - they're a good place to start and learn the basics - you can get to talking to the locals about where to hunt, but most Duck hunters won't tell about their honey holes - but deer hunters will tell on Duck hunters all day (and visa versa :D ).

Bantam510

Marksman
Special Hen
Reaction score
I'm going deer hunting this weekend and I am looking for inputs on good public lands close ot OKC. I'm thinking about going to Heyburn WMA, but not sure where to begin after that. Also this is my first time deer hunting. Any inputs would be helpful.

Stillhunter

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I self-started on deer around 2001 when I was still in college, and lucky to spare 125 bucks for a bow so I will say this.

In oklahoma, for deer, if you are just starting out, forget the rifle season unless someone has granted you access to some private land.

Get a bow, maybe one hang on treestand, and head for any number of our public lands that support archery hunting. In the archery season, I found the hunting pressure to be very reasonable, even on Saturdays in the early season. There are few if any trophy bucks, but deer numbers are large. I've had many opportunities to connect with an arrow on public land.

Archery was an easy thing to self teach, modern compound bows are very user-friendly. I could practice in the backyard of my house anytime I had the time.

The other thing you need to do, is make friends with other hunters, network. Have someone to go with. Get together for practice, then go up and camp together while you hunt.