Different Scope?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

OlBrownTruck

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
Hey everyone,
I have a Savage 112 BVSS in 300 Win Mag. I like the rifle and the way it shoots. The problem is the eye relief on the scope. I've been dinged between the eyes a couple of times. The scope is an older Tasco 8-40 power. It's clear and has all the adjustment one could ask for EXCEPT eye relief. I believe it is about 2", maybe 2 1/2.
I'm looking for affordable alternatives. Any suggestions...?

tynyphil

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
I have that same rifle, tho' in 223. I have a Nikon Buckmasters 4.5-14x40 scope one it. it has good eye relief, think I paid somewhere arounde $300 when purchased.

gary rayburn

New to the site!
Reaction score
I have the same rifle, Savage 112VLP 300 Win Mag with the stainless fluted bull barrel sitting in a MDT ESS Chassis, and I have a Vortex Strike Eagle 5-25x56 with the EBR-7C MRAD Reticle.
This scope has a 34mm tube and 3.7" of eye relief. This is a great scope and you can probably buy one on sale for about $800.
Another good option is the Vortex Crossfire II Hog Hunter 3-12x56. It has the Illuminated V-Brite MOA reticle, 30mm tube and 3.5" of eye relief. They are very durable and a very good value. Should be able to buy on sale for about $300.
I have 2 of these, one on a DPMS LR243 and one on an AR-15.
I have other scopes, Burris, SWFA, and Leupold and they are all good scopes but the 2 that I mentioned are my favorites.

Chief Sapulpa

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
Where they bust the sod in South Tulsa County.
You could buy this one…

IMG_0959.png

Tailgate

Marksman
Reaction score
Hey everyone,