Electric water heater

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cyberslider

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I've got an electric water heater that is 220/230/240 volt but it is on 2 - 20 amp single pole breakers and it keeps tripping one of the breakers. Any one know have an idea why? Weak breaker? Heating element(s) going bad?

IndVet

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I would guess it's shorting somewhere, but I'm no electrician.

Breaker is cheaper than a water heater. I guess you could change that before calling an expert and see what happens.

tyromeo55

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
First off. . . The WH should be fed a breaker that has the two poles tied together. if not put it on your to do list

Second. . . youll need to check the amount of current the heater is pulling on each leg and let us know. it could be a bad breaker or more likely a bad stat keeping both elements on at the same time.it would also be nice to know how many watts the elements are. there are better ways to test but i dont know your skill level

murphy j

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I've got an electric water heater that is 220/230/240 volt but it is on 2 - 20 amp single pole breakers and it keeps tripping one of the breakers. Any one know have an idea why? Weak breaker? Heating element(s) going bad?

First off. . . The WH should be fed a breaker that has the two poles tied together. if not put it on your to do list

Second. . . youll need to check the amount of current the heater is pulling on each leg and let us know. it could be a bad breaker or more likely a bad stat keeping both elements on at the same time.it would also be nice to know how many watts the elements are. there are better ways to test but i dont know your skill level