help me pimp my 1911

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

h8ns8n

Sharpshooter
Reaction score
NO. I don't mean you pay me to use it!
I am new to 1911's but love this gun. It is a Springfield Champion, and that is about all I know about it. I suppose it is a mil-spec model but I am not sure. the serial # starts with WW if that means anything.
I would like to know what mods I can do to this. I don't care for the small grip safety and wish it was larger (came up farther in the web of my hand)
can I add a trigger and hammer and what about night sights? I may get a pair of those rattlesnake grips but I kinda like the flames (which were my first add-on) also if I put alot of $ into it would I be better off just to buy one that was already done up? I actually got a good deal on this and really wanted the shorter barrel. any advice. where is the best place to get parts?
Thanks

ai256.photobucket.com_albums_hh187_h8ns8npics_7816dfd8.jpg

Shadowrider

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
One of the beauties of the 1911 is you can build what you want. I'd just add whatever goodies and mods to that one. If I was going to keep it long term that is. If you drop some dollars into it and are going to sell or trade it off you may or may not get your investment back. :twocents:

Honeybee

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Mine is the same gun only the full length model.

You can get parts at lots of places, I buy most of my parts for my gunsmithing at Brownells and Midwest.

Here is a photo of the refinish I have done on mine so far. Not done but just doing it as I have extra cash.

alh5.ggpht.com__cw7szDh41MM_S08jn_aChdI_AAAAAAAACrc_0gzmnvA3VF0_s640_PICT0487.JPG

alh6.ggpht.com__cw7szDh41MM_S08jnY9xIWI_AAAAAAAACrY_2fW9hW876qU_s640_PICT0304_1.JPG

Also if you look at the front of the grip you will see where I checkered it and the front of the trigger guard.