Need your politcal help, OSU Medical Center facing funding shortage.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

VitruvianDoc

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
If the Oklahoma State University Medical Center in downtown Tulsa does not receive an adequate level of funding from the Legislature this session, then the hospital will have to close. If it receives only an inadequate amount, services will have to be drastically reduced.

If the hospital were to close, the residents and medical students training at the OSU Center for Health Sciences' College of Osteopathic Medicine would face an uncertain future - and maybe no future at all in Oklahoma. And the remaining Tulsa hospitals would face a huge influx of new patients, many of them uninsured.

Read more from this Tulsa World article at http://www.tulsaworld.com/opinion/article.aspx?subjectid=211&articleid=20130210_211_G1_CUTLIN422671

I am a current medical student at OSU facing the prospect of my post-graduate residency education being shut down forcing me to most likely go out of state to finish my education. Many other students/residents share this bleak future should the hospital shut down. This happened 5 years ago when the legislator balked at providing adequate funding (though OU's hospital network receives a 38 million yearly grant that doesn't have to be renewed) and luckly a combo of private/public funding saved the hospital. However since OSU is required to re-apply every 5 years, the same scenario is being faced again. Please contact your congressman/woman/lobbyist/etc and make them aware of the issue.

This just isnt a battle of saving the hospital, but saving the ~175 residents it trains and provides to Oklahoma, a state which is already 49th in healthcare and lacking an adequate amount of physicians.

vvvvvvv

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
The article refers to the funding as essential for federal matching grants.