Oklahoma Gun Laws Short Version

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.


Special Hen
Apr 4, 2006
Reaction score
Found this while doing some research on my Curio and Relics license I just got. Might have already been posted but its interesting all the same.

Firearms Laws for
A synopsis of state laws on purchase,
possession and carrying of firearms.
Compiled by:
NRA-Institute for Legislative Action
11250 Waples Mill Road
Fairfax, Virginia 22030
(800) 392-8683
Oklahoma (As of August, 2010)
Rifles and
Shotguns Handguns
Permit to Purchase No No
Registration of Firearms No No
Licensing of Owner No No
Permit to Carry No Yes
“The right of a citizen to keep and bear arms in defense
of his home, person, or property, or in aid of the civil
power, when thereunto legally summoned, shall never be
prohibited, but nothing herein contained shall prevent
the legislature from regulating the carrying of weapons.”
Article 2, Section 26.
No state permit is required for the purchase of a rifle,
shotgun or handgun. Residents may purchase legal firearms
and ammunition from contiguous states, and residents of
contiguous states may purchase firearms and ammunition
in Oklahoma.
It is unlawful to sell or give any firearm to any person
under 18 years of age, except a rifle or shotgun given by
a parent to a child for education, hunting, or sport. It is
unlawful for any parent or guardian to permit his or her
child to possess any firearm if aware of a substantial risk
that the child will use the weapon in a crime or if the child
has been adjudicated a delinquent or convicted as an adult
of any criminal offense.
It is unlawful for any person to knowingly furnish any
firearm to any person who is a felon, a delinquent, under the
influence of alcohol or drugs, or is mentally or emotionally
unbalanced or disturbed.
No state permit is required to possess a rifle, shotgun
or handgun.
It is unlawful for any person under 18 years of age
to possess any weapon, except rifles or shotguns used in
education, hunting, or sport. Any firearm confiscated
from a person under 18 by law enforcement upon arrest
or detainment is subject to forfeiture.
It is unlawful for a felon to possess any firearm or to
have a firearm in any vehicle. This same prohibition applies
to anyone adjudicated a delinquent child for an offense
which would have constituted a felony if committed by
an adult, for ten years after such adjudication.
It is unlawful for any person under the supervision of the
Department of Corrections to possess or control a firearm,
or have one in any vehicle or residence. It is unlawful for
any unauthorized person to possess a firearm on any school
property or vehicle, except for education, hunting, or sport,
and those firearms legally carried in a vehicle, provided the
vehicle transports a student to or from school and does not
remain on school property.
It is unlawful for any person, except for peace officers
on duty, to carry a firearm upon or about his person, or
in any container, except for purposes of hunting, fishing,
education or recreation or by a valid Concealed Carry
License (“CCL”).
A person is permitted to carry firearms open and not
concealed when hunting, during safety class, target shooting,
for a military function, for a police function, or for
entertainment events or historical reenactments.
A person is permitted to carry unloaded firearms open and
not concealed when going to or from the personís private
residence or vehicle, or to a gun shop, gun show, or hunting,
target shooting, or other sporting activity.
A person may transport an unloaded firearm openly in a
motor vehicle at any time. It is unlawful to carry a loaded
firearm in a vehicle, though there are some exceptions for
firearms carried by those with a concealed carry license.
It is unlawful for any person other than the owner,
proprietor, or a peace officer to possess a firearm in any
establishment where alcoholic beverages are consumed. A
person with a valid CCL may carry a firearm onto premises
where alcohol is sold, provided that the sale of alcohol is
not the primary business.
It is unlawful to carry a firearm for the purpose of
unlawfully injuring another person.
It is unlawful to carry or use firearms while under the
influence of alcohol, any un-prescribed drug, or any prescribed
drug that could cause abnormal behavior.
The Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation (“OSBI”) is
authorized to issue a Concealed Carry License (“CCL”).
To apply for a concealed carry license a person must be
a U.S. citizen, an Oklahoma resident, 21 years old, have
completed a firearms safety and training course and submit
all necessary forms and fees.
Disqualifications for eligibility for a CCL are:
• any felony conviction or adjudication as a delinquent
• adjudication as a mentally incompetent person; any
involuntary commitment for mental illness, condition,
or disorder
• any false or misleading statement on the application
for a handgun license
• conviction of any of the following misdemeanor offenses
in any state: assault and battery causing serious physical
injury, aggravated assault and battery, or a second assault
and battery conviction, stalking, a violation relating to
a protection from domestic abuse law, illegal drug use
or possession
• any attempted suicide or other condition relating to
or indicating mental instability
• current treatment for a mental illness
• habitual misdemeanor criminal activity
• an outstanding felony warrant
The following are disqualifications for a period of three
• subject to the provisions of a deferred sentence or
deferred prosecution for a felony offense
• treatment for a mental illness, condition or disorder
which required medication or supervision;
• inpatient treatment for substance abuse;
• two or more convictions of public intoxication;
• two or more misdemeanor convictions relating to
intoxication or driving under the influence
• arrest for an alleged commission of, a charge pending
for, or subject to the provisions of a deferred sentence
or deferred prosecution for any one or more of the following
misdemeanor offenses: any assault and battery
which caused serious physical injury, any second or
subsequent assault and battery, any aggravated assault
and battery, stalking, any violation of a protection from
domestic abuse law , or any violation relating to illegal
drug use or possession.
Additional temporary disqualifications:
• a felony charge pending disqualifies until the final
determination of the matter
• any victim protection order disqualifies for three years
from the date of entry of the order or sixty days from the
date an order was vacated, canceled, or withdrawn
• a delinquent or felon residing in the residence of the
applicant disqualifies for thirty days from the date the
person no longer resides with the applicant.
Applications are available from the county sheriff or
by mail from the OSBI. The application must be made
under oath and signed in person before the sheriff of the
county where applicant resides. A non-refundable fee of
$100.00 for a 5-year license, or $200 for a 10-year license,
two passport size photographs, and the original certificate
of training or exemption certificate must also be submitted.
Applicant must show a valid photo ID. The sheriff
will take two complete sets of fingerprints, charging the
applicant no more than $25.00. The sheriff will make a
preliminary investigation and submit the application with
any relevant information to the OSBI within 14 days. The
OSBI will conduct a state and federal criminal background
search, a federal fingerprint search, and any other relevant
checks before issuing or denying the CCL within 90 days
of receipt of the application. Any denial may be appealed
within 60 days.
Licenseesí application materials remain available to
law enforcement personnel for law enforcement purposed
The safety and training course must be reasonably able
to be completed in eight hours and cost no more than
$60.00. Authorization for one or more type of pistol (derringer,
revolver, or semiautomatic pistol) requires training
and demonstration of competency under an approved
firearms instructor. Any applicant who trains with a semiautomatic
may also be approved, upon request, for revolver
and derringer, but qualification with revolver or derringer
requires separate qualification for semiautomatic firearms.
The firearm instructor shall refuse to train or qualify any
person whose handgun presented is deemed unsafe or not
a gun authorized under the law.
It is prohibited to carry any concealed handgun larger
than .45 caliber.


Special Hen
Apr 4, 2006
Reaction score
The license shall be valid in this state for a period
of five (5) or ten (10) years, unless subsequently
surrendered, suspended or revoked as provided by
law. The CCL may be renewed within 90 days of expiring
by submitting a renewal application, two recent passportsized
photos, and $85.00 for a 5 year license, or $170 for
a 10 year license, payable to the OSBI. If license is missing,
lost, stolen, or destroyed, the licensee shall notify the
CAUTION: Firearm laws are subject to frequent change and court interpretation. This summary is not intended as legal advice or
restatement of law. This summary does not include federal or local laws, ordinances or regulations. For any particular situation, a licensed
local attorney must be consulted for an accurate interpretation. YOU MUST ABIDE WITH ALL LAWS: STATE, FEDERAL AND
This may be reproduced. It may not be reproduced for commercial purposes.
OSBI within 30 days and will not have authority to carry
a concealed handgun until the CCL is replaced. There is
a $15.00 replacement fee.
Whenever carrying a concealed handgun, the licensee
must also carry the CCL and a valid Oklahoma driver’s
license or other identification.
A licensee must inform a police officer that the licensee
is in actual possession of a concealed handgun when the
licensee first comes into contact with any law enforcement
officer during the course of any arrest, detention or routine
traffic stop.
It is unlawful for any person having a CCL to carry
a concealed handgun into any: government building;
meeting of any elected or appointed government officials;
prison or detention center; elementary, secondary, or
vocational-technical school property; sports arena during
a professional sporting event; any place where pari-mutuel
wagering is authorized; college or university property and
any other place specifically prohibited by law. Except for
any elementary, secondary, or vocational-technical school
property, these prohibitions do not apply to parking lots.
The State of Oklahoma recognizes any valid concealed
carry weapons permit or license issued by another state.
Oklahoma statutes are silent on antique and replica
firearms. They are treated as ordinary firearms for possession
and carrying purposes.
It is unlawful to possess, purchase, or sell a machine
gun, except in compliance with all federal laws and regulations.
It is unlawful to possess a sawed-off shotgun or rifle
without a federal license
Oklahoma law preempts the entire field of legislation
relating to firearms, components, ammunition, and supplies.
There are some exceptions to this preemption, including
municipal law relating to discharge of firearms, confiscation
of property used unlawfully, and certain penalty provisions.
Municipalities may also issue traffic tickets for the improper
transport of firearms.
Oklahoma law preempts lawsuits against gun manufacturers
for damages arising from the lawful sale, marketing,
design, or manufacture of any firearm, and finds that
those activities are not unreasonably dangerous and do not
constitute a nuisance.
Except for an act of self-defense, it is unlawful to point
any firearm, whether loaded or not, at any other person.
Any person issued a CCL who knowingly or intentionally
allows a felon or delinquent to possess or control any
pistol shall be guilty of a felony.
It is unlawful to transport or discharge a shotgun, rifle,
or pistol from a boat under sail, except for the purposes of
hunting animals or fowl.
It is unlawful to willingly or maliciously disturb the
peace and quiet by shooting or brandishing a firearm.
It is a felony to fire a firearm at or into a residence, or
a public or commercial building.
No persons may shoot game while riding in or on
any motor driven land, air, or water conveyance, except a
non-ambulatory person may hunt from such with written
permission of the Oklahoma Wildlife Conservation Director.
No person may hunt, pursue game or use firearms
within 440 yards of a church, schoolhouse, or other public
place where people may assemble, so as to disturb such
No person may shoot at wildlife from or across a public
road or highway, or railroad right of way.
It is unlawful to manufacture, sell, or possess, carry
upon the person, use or attempt to use against another
person any round or elongated missile with a core of less
than 60% lead and having a fluorocarbon coating which
is designed to travel at a high velocity and is capable of
penetrating body armor.
Oklahoma Statutes, Title 21, Title 29


Special Hen
Dec 3, 2010
Reaction score
I commute or "split" time between OKC and Denton, TX. I understood that to say I can legally purchase a firearm from an individual here without any issues, correct?

Old Fart

Special Hen
Oct 29, 2008
Reaction score
I commute or "split" time between OKC and Denton, TX. I inderstood that to say I can legally purchase a firearm from an individual here without any issues, correct?

Long gun yes, handgun no.
Handguns in your state of residence only, otherwise you need a FFL transfer.

Latest posts

Top Bottom