Question about poor fingerprints

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

alanwk

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
My wife just went to the SO here in OKC. They now use a scanner. However her fingers are almost worn smooth. Difficult to get a good print. The scan would say "poor quality" but the deputy entered them anyway. Her fingers are smooth because of her job. What will happen if they cant't get good sets?

okiemaggie

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I have the same problem. I was a chemist for years and the dessicants wore my prints right off. After 2 failures at the local SO, I ended up at OSBI.

The lady that runs the scanner used cornhuskers lotion to bring up what ridges I have. She also made 2 sets of ink print cards as a back-up. One set or the other (scanner or card) was good enough to pass.

If your wife's prints are rejected, go to OSBI next. They guarantee a passable set of prints before you leave.

alanwk

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Thanks for your reply.
I had my prints rejected twice and then OSBI did their thing with the lotion. Funny that the SO said they were told NOT to use any lotion.:angry3:
Will OSBI insist on 2 rejections before they do it? Seems like a way to delay processing. I am now at almost 130 days.:pissed:

okiemaggie

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Since you're in OKC already, I don't think they will make you wait for two rejections. Seems like when we took our class they said the OKC residents could go to SO or OSBI for the first set, their choice. The rest of us had to go to our local SO first. But don't quote me, this was years ago.

NikatKimber

Sharpshooter
Staff Member
Special Hen Moderator
Reaction score
No, they don't require two rejections. Only the FIRST set is REQUIRED to be from your local SO, after that you can go directly to the OSBI. That's what I did. Pott county is notorious for bad prints, and not just for CCW either.