Saiga 12 in Competition

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sig-man

Marksman
Special Hen
Reaction score
Remember, I'm a noob, so sorry if this is kinda redundant.

I went and watched the pistol/shotgun match at USSA two weeks ago. Got me interested in competing. About a year ago I got a Saiga 12 for the bedside. I haven't moded it like I would like yet. I owned for about 10 months before I put any rounds thru it (I'm the guy you would hear about that got arrested for shooting along the riverbank.).

So, my question is: Would I look like an idiot competing with my magazine fed Saiga in a shotgun course? Anyone else here compete with a Saiga? I have absolutely no illusions of grandeur when it comes to going up against the Benelli's, Mossy's and Remingtons. Just wondering how much I would stand out (I'm the guy that prefers to NOT be the center of attention.).

Thanks in advance.

mike_pinto

Sharpshooter
Reaction score
There are quite a few used in shotgun matches and 3-gun. The one downside besides the reliability of them, you will be shooting in open class at most matches.

M

Perplexed

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
The one downside besides the reliability of them

M

How are they unreliable? That's the first I've heard about this aspect of Saigas...

Sig, if you want to avoid being the center of attention, make sure the metal retaining clip on the top of your magazine is firmly seated. It came off once on my 10-round mag, and I got a lot of looks and chuckles when ten shotgun shells flew every which way, most of them forward of the firing line :teehee:

SN13

New to the site!
Reaction score
Sig-man.

I compete using a Saiga 5.45x39 in rifle and a Saiga-12 in shotgun.