Setting up Hornady FL sizing die

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rmitch223

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I'm fairly new to reloading. I'm getting ready to start reloading .243 for my Rem. 700 SPS V.

My question is that I see a lot of people setting up there sizing die by raising the ram and turning in the sizing die until it touches the shell holder then lowering the ram and turning in the sizing die another 1/8 to 1/4 turn. I recently took a local NRA certified reloading class and the instructor suggested this method but does not have experience with the Hornady dies I will be using.

In the instructions that come with the Hornady dies it says to screw the die down until it touches the shell holder when the ram is at its highest position without camming over them lower the ram and tighten the lock ring and its set.

Which way do I need to setup my die for proper resizing to insure a safe and accurate headspace?

Thanks,

Ryan

Okie4570

Sharpshooter
Staff Member
Special Hen Moderator Moderator
Reaction score
I would follow the directions that come with your dies. RCBC dies did, haven't bought any in long time, come with a small square of thin cardboard. With the shellholder raised, you placed the cardboard on the shell holder, then ran the die down to the cardboard. I rarely full length size any rifle cartidges anymore, and just neck size, but I only shoot bolt and single shot rifles too.

MoBoost

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
If ammo is rifle specific - you can actually back the FL die half a turn and make it a Neck Size die.
Touching the shell holder will generally get you ammo that chambers in all standard rifles; if you have precision mic - you can actually tailor the shoulder bump.

Craig3

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score