Sighting in a scope?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MyMonkey

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
Ok folks. I am new to this whole long range rifle shooting thing and am trying to possibly get ready for deer season. :eek2: Never have been so I am obviously wanting to get things in order. I picked up a Weatherby Vanguard Sporter in .270 WIN a few years back and had not only fired it once before this morning. I recall that it shot fine back then but am not certain. I had a used Nikon Buckmaster placed on it by a local shop and had them laser bore sight it. Ok. Figured I was set.

Head out to Banner Road range this am to sight in the old deer gun and bam!!! Not even on the paper. :scratch: Hmmm... Dadgum! At 100 yards I was lost. So, head over to the 50 yard bench and figured out I was way high.

Ratcheted down the little clicky knob thing and tried to get it sighted to zero. Well, I must not know what I am doing because I simply could not within 20 rounds fired get this thing to Zero. Had some tight groups. Very tight but just not in the bullseye. What gives? Am I firing too fast, too slow or what? I assume the heat of the barrel may affect this. The more I shot the more pissed I got frustrated I got and was following up with another shot fairly quick.

All the other rifles I had did great. Even hit two rounds in a 3 inch group with the iron sighted Marlin 336! :Heya: The Model 99 in .300 Savage was a monster and hit where I aimed every dam time. What am I missing?

338Shooter

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score