Buying new inkjet printer, recommendations?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

zseese

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I just want a cheap Copier/Scanner/Printer with built in wireless. I am leaning towards the $80 dollar Kodak from Wally World, my HP just quit on me after about 4 years, but geez the Kodak ink is CHEAP when compared to HP or Canon, I would get a Brother but their ink is about the same as HP and Canon. Any reason not too buy a Kodak? I have no experience with them which is really what I am asking...Thanks

Dale00

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Check out the price of ink cartridges. There are or used to be many Canon printers for which you could buy cheap generic individual color ink cartridges.

HMFIC

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I just gave up on another ink jet printer due to high costs of ink and repeated issues with using cheaper refills from Cartridge World.

I bought an HP LaserJet P1102w at Office Depot on sale for $99 and it's been the best decision I ever made in a printer. It's a B&W only and I just use it for generic printing and shipping invoices, labels, etc... but it's impressed me so far and I wouldn't hesitate to get a color version.

The nice thing is that it gives 1500 pages on a toner cartridge and I've found factory HP ones for as low as $65 and refills for as low as $26. That makes it significantly cheaper than the BS I've been putting up with on inkjets.

I'm a laser man till death now. Fast, cheap, good. It does all three better than an inkjet.

LightningCrash

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
If you don't need to print photos, I would stay away from inkjets. If you only need to print a few photos, send them to Snapfish or CVS.

In inkjets I have had the best luck with Brother printers as far as refilled tanks go. You can even get an easy continuous ink system for them from Amazon.