Free floating barell question

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jamie_s_72

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
I am new to ARs and have a question. I have a mil spec Stag Model 3. I know it doesn't have a floating barell but what do I have to do to make it that way????? Is it a waste of money?

Reaction score
Go shoot it. Try many different ammo types and/or handloads. Wring it out. Find the most accurate load. If the accuracy achieved is sufficient for YOU, given YOUR purposes for the rifle, then yes, free-floating will be a waste of money.

If it's not sufficiently accurate, then no, it MAY be not be a waste of money - it may or may not be worth it to get a FF handguard (i.e. it may or may not enhance accuracy some or even a lot, but the chances are good that it will enhance accuracy at least a little bit.)

guns_not_groceries

Sharpshooter
Reaction score
Go shoot it. Try many different ammo types and/or handloads. Wring it out. Find the most accurate load. If the accuracy achieved is sufficient for YOU, given YOUR purposes for the rifle, then yes, free-floating will be a waste of money.

If it's not sufficiently accurate, then no, it MAY be not be a waste of money - it may or may not be worth it to get a FF handguard (i.e. it may or may not enhance accuracy some or even a lot, but the chances are good that it will enhance accuracy at least a little bit.)

+1. Good suggestions.

ez bake

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I am new to ARs and have a question. I have a mil spec Stag Model 3. I know it doesn't have a floating barell but what do I have to do to make it that way????? Is it a waste of money?

What do you mean by "Mil-Spec"? If its Stag's M4 clone (with plastic handguards), then it (being a Stag), should be more than accurate for shooting with irons, or even optics out to 100-200yds.