Illinois flies (fly fishing)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ksmirk

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Ok fella's I need some ideas, I was down there a couple of weeks ago and got skunked! I'll be headed back that way the 15th for a much needed weekend away and would like to hear what everyone is having luck with? yeah I know powerbait right :thumb: last time I was down there had good luck on my little tan mico jigs nothing on wooly buggers :-O and well I'm not good with tying those ity bity flies (16 and under) my fingers are too big or something LOL any ideas would be sweet! Later,

Kirk

Ksmirk

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I got me some of those and they don't work all that well (the flip-ups) I thin I'm going to go with the reading glasses! funny just had my eyes checked and they were 20/20 but something about a 7x tippet and those little hook eyes I just can't get my finders to work tying the knots. I went and tried some redfish Saturday and boys I need to just quit being so cheap and get a charter I about sunk to China in the marshes! first couple of times not so bad but there was that one time I sunk up to the boys! scared the crap out of me :shocked:

I'll give those scuds a try! my flight doesn't land until 9:00 on the 15th but it's straight to Mar-Val from there I might be able to tie a couple IF I can remember how! I guess I better look it up. Are you using a strike indicator? if so about how deep are you fishing them? just getting back into the flyfishing after being out of it a few years, my little brother has picked it up so it's nice to have someone to go with. Later,

Kirk

dennishoddy

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
I'm just a wannabe fly fisherman, and have full glasses. Still have a prob on the small flies.
Porter, and a couple of others would be the experts on this thread.

Porter

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score