Long Range Rifle

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pitzer52

Marksman
Special Hen
Reaction score
Hello everyone this is my first post on here but there seems to be a lot of knowledgable people on here and I just wanted to get your thoughts on a new rifle. I am looking to buy a new rifle in 7mm rem mag, mostly for long range target shooting but some hunting as well. What kind of rifle should I get and what kind of optics should I put on it?

undeg01

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
Best advice I have... If you will be shooting a 7mm Rem Mag, get a rifle with a good muzzle brake. The 7 mags I have owned were punishing, though mine were light weight, mountain rifle types. I have little experience with the 7 mag for long range, precision type shooting. I saw a magazine at Hastings in the last month that addressed the 7 Rem mag as a sniper rifle. You might see if you can get your hands on that and start your research there.

Okie4570

Sharpshooter
Staff Member
Special Hen Moderator Moderator
Reaction score
Any special reason you picked 7mm mag? I'm a huge 7mm fan, just not the 7mm rem mag or 7mm weatherby mag. Assuming you'll be reloading, don't over look the .280 Ackley Improved you want to stick with the 7mm's.

Pitzer52

Marksman
Special Hen
Reaction score
I will not be reloading. I like the 7mm rem mag for its flat trajectory and wide availability of ammo. I was initially thinking about a 270 wsm but ammo is pretty hard to find for it and I know there are other caliber a that shoot flatter but they are too expensive for me.

CoyoteStalker

Marksman
Special Hen
Reaction score
Probably around 500 yards or so but I'd like to get something that I could hit targets at 1000 yards with.