Making Fun of Engineers

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MBB

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Popular culture makes scientists and engineers to be the bad guys or at least not "cool" in the vast majority of movies, tv shows, etc. I heard a stat one time that it was over 90% of the time these types were the antagonists. Just last night on the Academy Awards, the host commented on the Engineering Oscar by saying, "congratulations, nerds". So where are all the OSA threads ragging on engineers?

I'm an engineer myself, so I'll start. This is a true story.

I was in San Angelo, TX at a mexican restaurant when a heat and air tech I was eating dinner with found out I was studying to be an engineer. Without further ado, he pulls out a pen and draws a circle on a napkin. He says, "When you become an engineer, always remember this. Just because I draw an anus on paper, doesn't mean it can take a dump." Of course he didn't use such polite words, but you get the idea.

So? Any engineer complaints/jokes/etc? Let's keep it clean so this thread doesn't get locked up. I'm curious to hear people's perceptions of engineers.

jstaylor62

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Three engineers and three accountants are traveling by train to a conference. At the station, the three accountants each buy tickets and watch as the three engineers buy only a single ticket.

"How are three people going to travel on only one ticket?" asks an accountant.

"Watch and you'll see," answers an engineer.

They all board the train. The accountants take their respective seats but all three engineers cram into a restroom and close the door behind them.

Shortly after the train has departed, the conductor comes around collecting tickets. He knocks on the restroom door and says, "Ticket, please."

The door opens just a crack and a single arm emerges with a ticket in hand. The conductor takes it and moves on.