New to hunting/prepping huting area

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

swamp donkey

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Okay, So I'm new to hunting ( been out 2 seasons, seen some deer but never had a good shot). I tried hunting land that I own last year with no luck. It's not much, 40 acres in S.E. OK, about 40 miles south of Wilburton. I know there are deer up there all over the place. I'm just trying to figure out how to get them to my area. There are plenty of people hunting on the land surrounding me, they get the low plains and streams. my problem is, my spring ran dry and it's rough terrain made up of a lot of shale and clay and big f***ng rocks. lots of pines and i think oak (with no lower branches due to rancher around me doing brush fires every few years). and there are ferns lower down the side of the mountain. no access to a tractor and damned hard to get a tiller down to the area with the ferns. (but possible)

So my questions are. Do small food plots work? (like 20x20)
should I use the area where the ferns are? (seems moist down there)
what should I use in areas that generally see a lot of shade?
I need something that is for the most part no maint. as its a 3 hour drive and about 130.00 in gas per trip.
Do salt blocks work? should I use just feed and seed ones or the expensive ones?
what else can I do to make in more of a good habitat for the deer?

yeah, a lot of questions, and Im sure I'll have more.

dennishoddy

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score