quick question for recurve bow

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JoLee1868

Marksman
Special Hen
Reaction score
So i have a PSE Kingfisher at 45lbs i use for Bowfishing. Its the only bow ive owned or shot.

Been wanting to take off the AMS reel and put on a cheap 1-2 pin sight on it for target shooting and taking out some stupid critters around the house.

any recommendations on sights?

swampratt

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
I have a Ben Pearson target master that was my first bow a recurve.
I practiced with it a bunch .. using carbon arrows and my fingers for grasping the string.

No sights were ever needed just practice and instinct shoot from different distances on each shot.

Buddy i got it from had some stick pins taped to the side of the bow for sights.
I got it when i was in 9th grade from him for 7 bucks.
My smallest target was a dove on the ground,, made for a nice lunch.
Got many cats and squirrel's and a skunk along with fish and other critters with that bow.

I took a (hail marry) shot at a deer running over 100 yards from me.
I lead it about 40 feet and aimed very high.. last day of the season figured a lung shot could happen.

I watched as the deer ran cross ways in front of me and the arrow flew through the sky what an arch!
The deer and arrow arrived at the same point at the same time,,, right center mass ....But too low, the arrow went right between the legs under the belly .. i watched the deer kick the arrow and the arrow turned around and hit the ground.

I was 18 at the time and was pretty happy i got that close.
Those recurves are sure fun to shoot.

You may try taping pins/ tooth picks to the bow.

Sights to me were a handicap.. always trying to estimate range and pick and rely on a pin.
Instinct worked better for me.
I still shoot sometimes with instinct vs the pins on the different bows i have.