Shopping storm shelters-Survive-a-Storm Shelters any good?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Grendelshooter

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
Our house has a small room that was obviously intended as a small office space that we wanted to turn into a storm shelter.

Survive-a-Storm Shelters are the ones that keep popping up when I go looking. They quoted me $7200 for installing a 6x8 saferoom into the existing space.

I have zero frame of reference for this type of thing but that doesn’t seem too bad to me, assuming the company and product are legit.

Can anyone here comment on their company and the quality of their product?

Tanis143

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
I'll put it this way. I lived in Moore when the May 3rd of 1999 rolled through. A house my family lived in when I graduated HS was picked up with half the solid slab foundation going with it. Literally all that was left was half the slab. It was not the only house that had that happen in our old neighborhood (my mom and siblings hadn't lived there for 3 years by that point). If you are going to spend that much money, buy an underground shelter. It would be the only thing that would survive an F5E tornado.

Snattlerake

Conservitum Americum
Special Hen
Reaction score
We thought long and hard about this subject. We had no yard space to put one in. We had no home space to install one. We saw the devastation tornadoes can make and thought the above ground shelters are just another target for debris or become debris. We even looked at the shelter under the bed that hydraulically expands but it needs a battery to upkeep besides still being above ground.