Anyone Here Do Leatherwork?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Erick

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I am looking to have a sling made for a rifle. I am looking to do something simple with my last name and a small panel on each side. One with oak leaves the other with cedar.

I old really like to do it myself but figured I'd ask here. If you can do something like that PM me details. Thanks!

Super Dave

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Have you done leatherwork before, Erick?

I did this about ten years ago. I'm no expert by any stretch of the imagination, but I could help you out if you want to make it yourself.

Erick

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
That looks nice! I've never done any sort of leatherwork. I may take you up on that. It's for a rifle that I plan on passing down so making the sling myself would be pretty nifty. What is the basic method, drill for hardware, tool design and dye?

Super Dave

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
That looks nice! I've never done any sort of leatherwork. I may take you up on that. It's for a rifle that I plan on passing down so making the sling myself would be pretty nifty. What is the basic method, drill for hardware, tool design and dye?

I have about half of a cow hide laying around, and a pretty good amount of tooling. Somewhere I have a book that I bought at Tandy. It's a lot easier than you would think. Being patient is the big thing. You can buy stamps for the letters of your name, but I prefer carving it. More neato that way, I think. I did a belt that way for my wife, several Christmases ago.