Inexpensive home defense shotgun advice?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BryanDP

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Some couple friends are looking at buying an inexpensive shotgun for home defense. They presented me with their find of the Savage Stevens 320 12 Gauge Pump-Action Shotgun with pistol grip stock ($190 at Academy) and wanted to know what I think, but I don't really know as I have no experience with it. I do have experience with the Maverick 88 and the Mossberg 500. Is the Stevens similar quality to those at least? Any reason to not just let them buy it or should I invest some time into helping them find something better?

Thanks in advance for any thoughts or advice you can offer that I can pass along.

dennishoddy

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
I do not advocate using a pump gun for home defense. Most people buy a gun stuff it under the bed and never use it again.
In high stress situations, short stroking the pump will cause a failure to eject or a failure to feed.
In addition, if one ends up in a gunfight and takes a round to either arm/hand they can no longer use the pump gun. It can be used one handed if you know how, but its slow.
A Semi-auto is a much better choice. One can fire it one handed for as many as rounds as are in the chamber.

druryj

In Remembrance / Dec 27 2021
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score