Need help/advice - .308 win cases sticking when depriming/sizing

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Harley1953

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
I have been reloading for a couple of years but only straight walled pistol cases. I decided finally to start loading some .308 win rifle cases.

My problem is this. When sizing/ depriming cases I can only do two or three pieces of brass before my RCBS rock chucker using older Lyman dies tries to stick the case to the point that my wife and I both have to really get on the actuator arm of the press to get it back out.

I have tumble cleaned the cases and then used Hornady spray lube on the cases standing them upright in the loading block. I make one pass at about 45 degree angle about 6" from cases and turn the block 180 degrees and spray again to make sure I get lube on each side of the case.

I have disassembled the lyman decapping die and spray the hornady lube on the die components as this is an old die set that was given to me.

I let all these dry a few minutes and start sizing/depriming....

As mentioned I can get two or three cases done and then can do no more before they want to stick in the die.

I can take the die apart again and clean/lube it with the Hornady spray lube and then get a few more before they stick again.

Since this is my first attempt at rifle cases, I am sure I am probably doing something incorrectly..

Huckelberry75

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
You are doing most if it correctly, but you do not need to lube the die, that is a waste of time. Just make sure the die is nice and clean, one time and that should do it for the die part of it. Be sure that you get a better layer of lube on your cases in the block and you shouldn't have any issues. Don't "gunk" it on, but you need an even coat all the way around.

1911user

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score