Recommendation for CCW

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rogersz

Marksman
Special Hen
Reaction score
I can't decide on what to carry so I'm seeking opinions. My main dilemma is semi-auto or revolver. Size and money are my biggest factors ( it has to be small and easy to conceal, and I only have about $325 to spend). Also, ammo availability is a factor, and reliability. I'll also be taking this gun to the range at least twice a month. I've been looking at the kel-tec p32 or a .38 snubbie like a taurus or charter arms (I know not the ideal self defense rounds but it has to be a small, easily concealed gun). I'm pretty new to guns and have only owned a handgun for about a year, so I'm open to any and all suggestions. Thanks for everyones time.

Zombie

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
what do you own currently? why not carry it...

I have a 38 special 3 inch bbl I sometimes carry - usually a compact 1911 is on my hip.

whatever you carry know how it works, know that you can trust it, and that it will function. You should know it inside and out and be able to comfortably shoot it.

rogersz

Marksman
Special Hen
Reaction score
i currently own a taurus pt-111 and it is definately not reliable, it's been sent back to taurus twice and still doesn't work right. i've tried different carry positions and i can always see it printing, so i'm thinking i need somethin smaller.

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
There's a lot of good choices in that price range. Pic the largest/heaviest one you can stand to carry all day long. If you thinking .38sp, I'd recommend looking at .357mag. If your considering .380, I'd recommend 9mm. Most of these options are comparable in size with a slight addition to weight, but deliver more punch.

Don't be afraid of carrying a full size. You'd be surprised how easy it is to conceal a 5" 1911.

lockoutmonkey

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score