Reloading for a Vaquero 45 Colt

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jmiller45

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
I recently purchased a Vaquero and plan on reloading for it. I am new to reloading and I am almost all set up and ready to go. Just missing a few pieces. Anyways, I bought my dies, brass, bullets, powder, primers, and a Hornandy manual. I was reading it yesterday and in the index there is two different loads for the .45 Colt. One just says .45 Colt and one say for Ruger and T/C. In the Ruger & T/c section it says for Blackhawks. These are the hotter loads like around 26gr vs. 6gr I believe. So my question is... Can I load the hotter loads for the Vaquero or is it just inadequate and can't handle the pressure? If you anyone can shed any light on this I sure would appreciate it.

Thanks,
jmiller45

aeropb

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
The 2 loads you mentioned are for different platforms. The 26gr loads only show up in the TC Contender/Encore section of my books. I can't find a .45 Colt revolver load that uses more than 20gr of AA-5744. Honestly if you're just gonna punch paper, I'd use the suggested starting load.

jmiller45

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
The 2 loads you mentioned are for different platforms. The 26gr loads only show up in the TC Contender/Encore section of my books. I can't find a .45 Colt revolver load that uses more than 20gr of AA-5744. Honestly if you're just gonna punch paper, I'd use the suggested starting load.

That's probably what I will do, but I would like to use it as a side arm for hunting also and think that I would like a little extra umph! Plus my friend carries a 44MAG and laughed the other day when we shot the 45Colt. I want to make him some surprise rounds next time we shoot!

flatwins

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
What sites are you looking at?